The Barn is a cosy home which showcases it's original features in abundance by embracing much of its original external features, internal exposed brickwork and wooden beams, but finished to a new build standard.
The ground floor comprises of a large modern style kitchen and dining space as well as a separate living room, utility area and downstairs w/c.
The second floor boasts further original features, which include vaulted ceiling heights in the principle bedroom, exposed brick work and further exposed beams stretch across the width of the property.
The Barn is also nestled perfectly next to the beautifully exposed car port which is linked via an external door into the dwelling.
Viewing is highly advisable to really embrace the character of this property which will be ready for occupancy mid 2023.
*CGI's are of multiple plots and are for illustration purposes only.
History of The Chase
The Chase, known as Widney Farm prior to the 1920s, was originally part of the Manor of Longdon. This was owned
by Lord Byron upon his marriage in 1815 to Anne Isabella Milbank, the daughter of Sir Ralph Noel, 6th Baronet. Upon Lady Byron's death in 1860, the manor was passed down to her son-in-law, William King-Noel, 1st Earl of Lovelace. Following his death in 1899 it was sold to a Joseph Bennett Clarke and quickly sold again to well-known local bakers and confectioners, the Pattison Brothers. At this point the farm became known as Smith's Farm, named after the tenant of the farm, Sydney Smith. It is said that is also how Smiths Lane got its name.
Around 1918, Widney Farm was bought by Samuel Boddington of Hillfield Hall, a retired Birmingham wool merchant. This event marked a number of changes to the property, most notably its renaming to 'The Chase'. This may have been to distinguish the site from Widney Manor House, which had been known as Widney Farm. He had the house extended and modernised and moved there in the 1930s. Boddington's impact shifted the site from a working farm to a more genteel domestic setting.
After Boddington's death in 1937, The Chase was bought by Captain Oliver Bird, the grandson Alfred Bird, the founder of 'Bird's Custard'. Oliver is said to have made further alterations to the house, before giving it to his wife in 1947. She lived there until her death in 1969 upon which it was sold to A.J. Stait who did yet more modernisation. Mr & Mrs ws Jordan bought The Chase from the Staits on
the 23rd of January 1976. The property remained in the Jordan family for over forty years, until it was sold to be developed into ten homes, conserving as much of the existing site as possible.
Knowle is a charming village, with a history dating back to the 13th century. The area has a balance of being a Green Belt country town with Tudor architecture, whilst having access to large cities. There is a strong community in Knowle, with many shops and restaurants being independent as well as family run.
Knowle is a tranquil rural village, 3 miles from Solihull. Located in the heart of the midlands, it is situated just 10.8 miles southeast of Birmingham and 11.2 miles west of Coventry, a stone's throw from the Grand Union Canal.
The Chase is not short on access to rail networks, with three stations reachable within a ten-minute drive, the closest being only a mile away. Solihull itself is one of the best-connected towns in the region, making it perfect for commuters to London and Birmingham.
If you prefer to travel on the road, the M42 is a five-minute drive from the Chase, and links to the M40, M5, and M6, providing complete access across the Midlands, as well as to the rest of the country.
|Property Type||%||Avg. current value||Avg. # beds||Avg. # bathrooms|
|Property Type||1 Bed||2 Beds||3 Beds||4 Beds||5 Beds|
|Houses||-||£364,167 (6)||£552,663 (15)||£681,421 (14)||£1,376,990 (5)|
|Flats||£245,267 (9)||£318,518 (19)||£275,000 (1)||-||-|
|All||£245,267 (9)||£329,474 (25)||£535,309 (16)||£681,421 (14)||£1,376,990 (5)|